Select Page

We’re starting off the new year with Susan J. in our “Get to Know Us” blog post.  Susan is our Human Resources Officer.  We hope this gives you a little insight to people who make NGT tick.

Q&A’s for Susan:

Q:  Where is your childhood home?

A:  My hometown is Wells, MN, but I’ve lived near Buffalo Center for 20+ years.

Q: What is something fun about yourself you’d like others to know?

A:  I have 2 Bachelor of Science degrees:  the first is in Interior Design/Construction Management with a minor in Gerontology, the second is in Accounting with a minor in Business Administration.

Q:  Where’s your favorite place in the world and why?

A:  I love to travel so in terms of a destination, definitely Hawaii because it’s beautiful with both mountains and the ocean; but I also love my home – it a reflection of who I am and the things I love – including my family.

Q:  What’s the coolest thing you are working on right now (without giving too many confidential details away)?

A:  Workforce Planning – trying to look at projected growth to determine which positions will be needed at NGT for all departments to run smoothly.

Q:  How old is the oldest pair of shoes in your closet, describe the shoes?

A:  Oh boy, that’s going to be hard because I have a LOT of shoes.  It’s probably a pair of Cole Haan tall black boots.  I’ve had them for over 15 years but they’re still in great shape. I don’t wear them nearly as much as I used to, but I can’t bring myself to get rid of them either.

Q:  What are three things still left on your bucket list?

A:  All three will have to do with travelling:

  1. Visit all 50 states – I’ve visited or passed through 31 so far
  2. Australia/New Zealand
  3. Sweden/Denmark – I’d love to see where my ancestors are from

Q:  Name an accomplishment in your career that you’re most proud of.

  1. I’m old so “back in the day”, the only way you could take the CPA exam was to take all 4 parts at once, over 2 full days. It was brutal. I passed the whole thing on my first attempt. I remember being ecstatic when my results came back – that was also back when you had to wait 3 MONTHS to get your results. 
  2. I’m also proud that I’ve learned to not back down from a challenge. I’ve had many careers – interior design, CPA, cabi clothing stylist, Financial Officer at NGT, and HR Officer at NGT – and I’ve learned that it doesn’t matter what schooling or experience you’ve had, as long as you’re willing to learn and work for it, you can accomplish anything with the right mindset.

Q:  What makes you laugh?

A:  My kids, my husband, and a great rom com/chick flick

Q:  What’s in your frig right now?

A:  A lot! Leftover pizza, yogurt, cinnamon rolls, milk, chocolate milk, Christmas cookies – we’re pretty healthy eaters huh?! 😊